Footy Times

Premier League 2019-20: fixture released 

0 310

When are the fixtures released?

The 2019/20 Premier League fixtures are announced at 9am on Thursday 13 June.

When does the Premier League season start?

The 2019/20 campaign begins on the weekend of Saturday 10 August.

How are the fixtures decided?

There are a total of 380 matches and they are not simply randomly put together. The dates for international matches, European club competitions and FA competitions are factored in to leave the available dates to play league matches.

A fixture computer condenses the season into five ‘sets’ which are then reversed later in the season. Clubs cannot play more than two home or away games in a row, although rearrangements can sometimes lead to that. Many clubs are paired with another club and must never play at home in the same round of fixtures (Arsenal and Tottenham for example).

Fixtures are reviewed by the Association of Chief Police Officers and British Transport Police representatives before being confirmed.

Any other changes?

There will be eight televised matches at 7.45pm on a Saturday this season, while Amazon Prime has won the right to broadcast 20 matches in 2019/20 – 10 over a Bank Holiday, expected to be Boxing Day, and 10 over a midweek schedule.

There will also be a mid-season break for the first time. The two-week break will take place in February and is structured to ensure that Premier League matches are still played every weekend over that period. Each weekend during the break will feature five Premier League games on the first weekend and five on the following weekend.

To incorporate this, Emirates FA Cup fifth round matches will move to midweek.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More