Footy Times

Gareth Southgate names English squad for Nations League


Harry Maguire has been included in Gareth Southgate’s England squad for next month’s Nations League games against Iceland and Denmark.

There are first call-ups for Manchester City midfielder Phil Foden, Manchester United striker Mason Greenwood and Leeds midfielder Kalvin Phillips.

Maguire’s trial is under way for an alleged incident with Greek police last week. He has pleaded not guilty.

Forward Danny Ings and goalkeeper Dean Henderson are also in the squad.

Southampton’s Ings, who has been capped once before, scored 22 Premier League goals last season, one behind Golden Boot winner Jamie Vardy. Uncapped Manchester United keeper Henderson spent last term on loan at Sheffield United and helped them finish ninth in their first season back in the top flight.

On selecting 27-year-old Manchester United captain Maguire, Southgate said: “I have spoken with Harry and have the insight to the story which is very different to what’s being reported.

“I have no reason to doubt what he’s telling me and it’s important he knows he’s got my support at this moment.

“Harry regrets the fact he has brought that sort of focus and attention to the team – he apologised for that – but also has his own side of the story.”

Midfielder Jack Grealish, who helped Aston Villa retain their Premier League status last season, has not been included in the 24-man squad.

Forward Raheem Sterling has been picked while his Manchester City team-mate Kyle Walker has earned a recall.

Liverpool’s Jordan Henderson and Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain and Leicester duo Ben Chilwell and James Maddison miss out through injury.

England face their Euro 2016 conquerors Iceland in Reykjavik on 5 September before playing Denmark in Copenhagen three days later.

The disruption caused to the football calendar by coronavirus, including Euro 2020 being delayed by a year until 2021, means England have not played since November 2019, when a 4-0 win in Kosovo concluded their Euro 2020 qualification campaign.

England squad

Goalkeepers: Dean Henderson, Jordan Pickford, Nick Pope

Defenders: Trent Alexander-Arnold, Eric Dier, Joe Gomez, Michael Keane, Harry Maguire, Tyrone Mings, Kieran Trippier, Kyle Walker

Midfielders: Phil Foden, Mason Mount, Kalvin Phillips, Declan Rice, James Ward-Prowse, Harry Winks

Forwards: Tammy Abraham, Mason Greenwood, Danny Ings, Harry Kane, Marcus Rashford, Jadon Sancho, Raheem Sterling

Source: bbc

Comments are closed.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More