Footy Times

Man City are Premier League Champions after Arsenal’s epic fall

0 129

Manchester City have clinched the Premier League title after Arsenal’s 1-0 loss to Nottingham Forest on Saturday. This victory brings them closer to achieving a historic Treble, last accomplished by Manchester United in 1999.

Their next challenges include the FA Cup final against Manchester United on June 3 and the Champions League final against Inter Milan on June 10.

With Arsenal’s defeat, they cannot catch up to Manchester City in the Premier League race. City’s lead remains four points ahead of Mikel Arteta’s side, who have just one game remaining.

Next on City’s schedule is a match against Chelsea at the Etihad on Sunday. This season marks their fifth Premier League triumph in the last six seasons. In total, they have won the top-flight title nine times, with seven of those victories occurring since City Football Group took ownership of the club in 2008.

Despite a strong start to the season, with Erling Haaland’s notable scoring contributions, City had to settle for second place after 14 games due to the winter break caused by the World Cup in Qatar.

In February, City faced charges from the Premier League for financial rule violations spanning nine seasons. The potential sanctions could include fines, point deductions, or relegation. However, City maintains their denial of these charges.

City are only the fifth club in the history of English football to win three top-flight titles in a row after Huddersfield Town (1924-1926), Arsenal (1933-1935), Liverpool (1982-1984) and Manchester United (1999-2001 & 2007-2009).

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More