Raheem Sterling is the Football Writers’ player of the year

Manchester City’s Raheem Sterling has won the Football Writers’ Association Footballer of the Year award.

Sterling, 24, took the writers’ men’s award with 62% of the vote after he was named Professional Footballers’ Association Young Player of the Year.

Liverpool defender Virgil van Dijk who became PFA player of the year was second. After a mixed stint in the sky blue shirts, the English forward found his brilliant best this season under the patronage of Pep Guardiola.

The former Liverpool man has been a key member of the City team which is two wins away from defending their Premier League title and has also been a prominent voice in the campaigns against racism in the game.