Muller and Hummels (in the middle) played their last game for Germany in the 2018 Russia World Cup. Photo: Twitter

Muller and Hummels back as Joachim Löw names Germany Euro squad

Germany head coach Joachim Löw has announced his squad for this summer’s rescheduled UEFA European Championships.

With squad increase allowed by the UEFA in the aftermath of a strained club season due to the coronavirus pandemic, Löw has named a 26 man squad instead of 23.

Bayern Munich’s Thomas Muller and Borussia Dortmund’s Matt Hummels have been called back to the national team after three years of exile forced by Low due to the dismal run in the 2018 Russia World Cup.

Meanwhile, Dortmund captain Marco Reus ruled himself out, stating that his body demands rest after a strenuous club football season.

Bayern’s starlet Jamal Musiala, who made his senior international debut in March, is an expected addition. Born in Germany to a British-Nigerian father and German mother, Jamal chose to wear the Die Mannschaft jersey after a colossal tug of war between them and England.

The 17 year old grew up as a football player in England and represented them in various youth tournaments before making his senior team choice.

Germany have been drawn in a tricky Group F alongside world champions France, holders Portugal and play-off winners Hungary.

The four-time world champions will play all three of their group fixtures at Bayern’s Allianz Arena – one of 11 continental venues for the rescheduled finals. A last-eight match is also scheduled to take place in the Bavarian capital on 2 July.

Germany Squad

Goalkeepers:  Bernd Leno (Arsenal), Manuel Neuer (Bayern Munich), Kevin Trapp ( Eintracht Frankfurt)

Defenders: Robin Koch (Paris Saint Germain), Antonio Rüdiger (Chelsea), Marcel Halstenberg (RB Leipzig), Lukas Klostermann (RB Leipzig), Christian Günter (SC Freiburg), Mats Hummels (Borussia Dortmund), Robin Gosens (Atalanta), Matthias Ginter (Borussia Mönchengladbach), Niklas Süle (Bayern Munich)

Midfielders: Joshua Kimmich (Bayern Munich), Leon Goretzka (Bayern Munich), Kai Havertz (Chelsea), Thomas Müller (Bayern Munich), Toni Kroos (Real Madrid), Jamal Musiala (Bayern Munich), Emre Can (Borussia Dortmund), Jonas Hofmann (Borussia Mönchengladbach), Florian Neuhaus (Borussia Mönchengladbach), Ilkay Gündogan (Manchester City), Leroy Sane (Bayern Munich)

Forwards: Kevin Volland (AS Monaco), Timo Werner (Chelsea), Serge Gnabry (Bayern Munich)