Trabzonspor win Turkish Super Lig trophy after nearly four decades

Trabzonspor won the Turkish league for the first time in 38 years on Saturday, triggering wild celebrations among the stadium’s thousands of home fans.

They clinched the title with a 2-2 draw against Antalyaspor, moving nine points clear of second-placed Fenerbahce with three matches remaining.

Trabzonspor got off to a flying start as Danish striker Andreas Cornelius put them ahead after three minutes, but Antalyaspor responded with an equaliser in the 51st minute.

However, the champions-elect took the lead for the second time shortly after the hour mark through Türkiye international Dorukhan Tokoz, only to surrender 10 minutes later.

However, the point was sufficient, as Trabzonspor have a superior head-to-head record versus Fenerbahce and hence cannot be caught.

Istanbul clubs Galatasaray, Fenerbahce, and Besiktas have dominated locally for decades, collectively capturing 57 of the 65 Super Lig titles available.

When Trabzonspor won the Turkish league for the first time in 1975-1976, they broke the monopoly of the three large Istanbul clubs.

This began a run of dominance during which they won five straight championships before adding another in 1983-1984, earning them the moniker “The Black Sea Storm.”