Footy Times

Sir Alex Ferguson undergoes emergency surgery for brain haemorrhage

0 533

LONDON: Sir Alex Ferguson has undergone an emergency surgery and is battling for his life after suffering a brain haemorrhage yesterday.

The former Manchester United manager reportedly fell at home in the morning and was taken to Macclesfield district hospital from where he was transferred to the Salford Royal, where the surgery took place.

A Man United statement said the procedure “had gone very well” but Ferguson “needs a period of intensive care to optimise his recovery”.

The Scot, one of the most successful manager in the history of soccer retired as United manager in May 2013 after winning 38 trophies during a record 26 years in charge.

During the Premier League match on last Sunday he presented departing Arsenal boss Arsene Wenger with a commemorative trophy at Old Trafford.

Ferguson’s family have requested privacy as he recovers in Salford Royal Hospital.

Ferguson began his playing career with Scottish club Queen’s Park as a 16-year-old striker whilst working as an apprentice tool-worker at Clyde Shipyards.

His most notable spell as a player came in a two-year stint at Rangers from 1967.

The Scot’s managerial career started when he was 32 at East Stirlingshire before going to St Mirren, where he won his first trophy by taking the Scottish first division title in 1977.

Ferguson moved on to Aberdeen and turned them into a major force in a Scottish top division in which Rangers and Celtic had dominated.

He led them to three Scottish titles, four Scottish FA Cups, one League Cup and the European Cup Winners’ Cup in 1983 by beating Real Madrid 2-1 in the final.

Sir Alex Ferguson’s Man Utd trophies
Premier League: 1993, 1994, 1996, 1997, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2003, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2011, 2013 FA Charity/Community Shield: 1990 (shared), 1993, 1994, 1996, 1997, 2003, 2007, 2008, 2010, 2011
FA Cup: 1990, 1994, 1996, 1999, 2004 Uefa Super Cup: 1992
League Cup: 1992, 2006, 2009, 2010 Inter-Continental Cup: 1999
Champions League: 1999, 2008 Fifa Club World Cup: 2008
Cup Winners Cup: 1991  

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More