Footy Times

FIFA Announces Host Cities for 2026 World Cup – Here’s The Full List

0 120

The host cities for the FIFA World Cup in 2026 have been announced by the governing body, with the tournament to be hosted by Canada, Mexico and the US. The United States will have 11 venues, Mexico three and Canada two.


Out of the 80 total matches in the tournament schedule, the US will host 60, with Canada and Mexico getting 10 each. Every game from the quarter-final stage onwards will be in the US, although FIFA has not yet named the individual venues for the knockout stages.


The iconic Estadio Azteca in Mexico City, Mexico, which played host to the 1970 and 1986 World Cup finals, will become the first stadium to host matches in three World Cups.


However the Rose Bowl in California, USA, host of the 1994 World Cup final, has been overlooked in favour of SoFi Stadium, another venue in the Los Angeles area.

Diego Maradona celebrates winning the 1986 World Cup final at the iconic Estadio Azteca, Mexico. (Photo Credit: 433)


There will also be no games in Washington, D.C., with a joint bid by the US capital city and the state of Baltimore rejected by FIFA. It means this will be the first time that the capital of a host country will not hold any World Cup games, with Canada’s Ottawa also excluded.


The first World Cup to be hosted by three nations, the 2026 edition will also be the largest yet, with the number of participating teams expanded from 32 to 48.


It is not clear which of the hosts, if any, will receive automatic qualifications to the tournament, with the FIFA Council expected to decide the matter.


Below is the full list of host cities and stadiums:


United States: Atlanta (Mercedes-Benz Stadium); Boston (Gillette Stadium); Dallas (AT&T Stadium); Houston (NRG Stadium); Kansas City, Missouri (Arrowhead Stadium); Los Angeles (SoFi Stadium); Miami (Hard Rock Stadium); New York/New Jersey (MetLife Stadium); Philadelphia (Lincoln Financial Field); San Francisco Bay Area (Levi’s Stadium); Seattle (Lumen Field)


Mexico: Guadalajara (Estadio Akron); Mexico City (Estadio Azteca); Monterrey (Estadio BBVA Bancomer)


Canada: Toronto (BMO Field); Vancouver (BC Place)

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More